top of page

SUPERGIRL | One week after 'Alex'

...And honestly, I’m still not over it. Last week’s 19th episode in season 2 of Supergirl had an effect on a lot of people, and it certainly has on me.

I originally started this blog post on May 3 but it’s taken me this long to even calm down enough to put it into words, and I’m still not sure I’ll ever have the capacity to explain how I feel about it. I think it’s one of those things that only I will understand why it affects me so much on my own personal level, and that’s okay. It took me this time to realise it’s not a bad thing.

I’ve don’t think I’ve ever had an episode of a TV show, or a character for that matter, who has inspired me so much that I can’t stop thinking about it. And I’ve watched Buffy, so that’s saying something.

'Alex' is a TV episode that just works. From the writing to the acting, the directing to the editing, it was perfect. Season 2 has had many criticisms for erasing Kara's character arch that was so promintent in the first, however in this episode she doesn't have time to think about being alone or do things the 'right' and moral way; she is fuelled by her gut feeling to protect her sister. The relationship between Kara and Alex is one of my favourite things about the show.

The episode isn't about the protagonist this time, instead time is shared between three incredibly strong, women; Alex, Maggie and Kara. Alex, usually tough and hard to knock-down is trapped. Maggie, normally straight-talking and confident is vulnerable and scared. And Kara, who can punch and fly her way out of trouble finds her powers are useless.

Since the episode aired, I have watched it at least once every day - when I watch it it calms me down and puts me in a place where I feel ready to face the day. And that feels great when sometimes it feels like a struggle to do just that. And that’s because of Alex. Alex Danvers.

Played by Chyler Leigh, Alex Danvers is the sister of Supergirl, Melissa Benoist, and in this episode she gets abducted. For most of the episode, she’s stuck inside a room that is in essence a box in the middle of nowhere – so we don’t actually see much of her in action, something her character is renowned for. This is what inspires me. While she is trapped in the box, she doesn’t stop trying. Trying to get out, trying to intimidate her captor, trying to get a connection back to the D.E.O. She even cuts deeply into her own skin with a credit card to get access to her tracker before wiring herself up to the security camera and sending a signal back to her HQ - and while it makes for a squeamish watch, it blows my mind - even though this is fiction.

So the first reason the episode had such an effect on me and is the best episode of this season is because of Alex (and Chyler). She is the main focus of the 45 minutes despite getting little screen time, but boy does she make the most of it and demand your attention when she does. She never stops trying to escape from the room she is held captive in even when the chances of survival are slim, and uses everything she has learnt from her D.E.O training to help her survive right up to the last second. The fear she must have had in those moments, and yet she never gave up. She kept trying, many different ways until she was okay again. It’s a captivating performance from Chyler Leigh, who I wish I could thank personally for everything she has done for me without even knowing. It’s weird that an actor playing fictional character can have that effect on you.

Alex is just badass; she is a fully trained D.E.O agent, faces danger head on and protects anyone and everyone she can. Mainly, she is strong – although if anything, season one of Supergirl demonstrates just exactly how successful a TV show can be with many strong, female characters as leads in the cast. She's so brave, and that’s why she has so very quickly become my inspiration and hero (sorry Becks).

The second reason is because of the importance of LGBT+ representation in her relationship with Maggie, played by Floriana Lima. First of all, Chyler and Floriana seem to have an incredible chemistry off-camera which clearly resonates in their acting as they just seem to bounce off one another. However, it is the writing of the show which I am also thankful for, in that I have never seen such a healthy relationship portrayed on any TV show.

In this episode, Floriana crushed it. ‘Owned it’, as the cool kids say. Her performance was so genuine and raw that I can’t watch some scenes without crying; the way her voice breaks when she sees and is able to talk to Alex from behind a laptop screen is so pure and seems so natural that it brings out emotions I never knew even existed.

This blog post has nowhere near done the episode or Chyler and Floriana justice for anything, but it’s the closest thing I could get to explaining how it has affected me. Not only has it made me feel accepting that all I can do is try and fight, their journey has made me feel more comfortable with myself. The thing with these two actors is that they know and understand the importance of the people they are playing, and I think that is so wonderful. Thank you Chyler, FLoriana and the great writing team behind Alex Danvers, Sanvers and this episode in particular. It was perfect.

(Photo credit: https://www.flickeringmyth.com/2017/04/promo-images-for-supergirl-season-2-episode-19-alex/)

FOLLOW ME
  • LinkedIn_logo_initials
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram_App_Large_May2016_200
  • Snapchat Social Icon
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
iNSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page