top of page

Travel time | A weekend in Bruges

It was my grandma's 80th birthday in January, and to celebrate she saved up and bought my family of four, my auntie and uncle and herself a weekend trip on the ferry in March to Bruges.

The trip itself had felt like a really long time coming; for one, she booked it way back in 2016 so it hadn't felt like it was really happening until it came around, and two, by this time I had started to get fed up with being at uni. It felt so exciting to be going travelling and do something that I'd talked about doing for a while. Plus I hadn't been to Bruges since I was a little bab so it was like seeing a whole new place. I still can't believe my grandma paid for it all though, I haven't said thank you enough.

Here's a low down on some of my highlights:

GROTE MARKT

My word, what a nice square. I had decided within seconds that I loved it, but was too overwhelmed at first to really take in all of the impressive architecture due to the massive landmark of the Belfry Tower which overlooks it. The Markt is located in the heart of the Belgian city as a central square, and is home to many restaurants, cafes and bars. And lots of chocolate shops - I wasn't complaining.

It's other main feature are the horse drawn carriages which pollute the area. While they don't come cheap, this transport stereotypically offers a romantic ride around the city of authentic European history. Even though I don't subscribe to the whole 'romantic' association, they do add to the character of the area.

There's so much grandeur to the buildings that enclose the square, and it's full of colour. With its stunning architecture, there's no wonder it's sometimes called the "Venice of the North".

BELFRY TOWER

I found the tower quite intimidating in a way, mainly because I tried to stand in several different places and re-positioned myself a lot and still couldn't make the whole thing fit comfortably into a photo. Then again, I don't have the best of camera's.

When we first travelled into the city, we were dropped off in a taxi as my grandma can't walk or stand for long periods without being in pain, and the Belfry Tower was one of our first sights as it stood tall. This did mean we were unable to climb the 366 steps to reach the top of the tower which I would love to have done, so if I go back that will be on my bucket list.

The tower's founding history dates back to 1240 when it was established the tallest and most impressive building over any of the others. Standing 83 metres tall, it has suffered several fires and it was only in 1822 that the current stone tower was completed and fire risks were reduced. It holds 47 bells and regularly chimes the hours and for important events, still giving tourists the best panoramic views of the city.

There's no way it would fit - I blame the camera!

FOOD AND DRINK

The good thing about the square is that you barely have to move and you've already found somewhere to take a seat and have a drink or bite to eat. Based on the complaints from my dad however, it's better to sacrifice the top view onto Grote Markt and walk a few streets back to get to the cheaper priced cafes and restaurants.

We went to a few cafes so my grandma could have a seat while we went off and explored, and every bartender who drew us into their place was so helpful and took great care of her. We went to one cafe which served the most incredible waffles, but their range wasn't gluten free which meant my mum couldn't eat anything except her Crunchie which she smuggled in.

CHOCOLATE

Belgian chocolate deserves to be a highlight of its own. The streets behind the main square featured chocolate shop, next to a chocolate shop, across from a chocolate shop which was also next to a chocolate shop. I didn't understand how they all stayed in competition with each other when they are located in such close proximity - that was until I ate taster after taster after taster.

My my was I a fan. Not only were the chocolates the greatest pieces I've ever had, but the shops themselves were gorgeous. They have such beautiful interior decoration, and they all look fancy af with so much chocolate on offer. I didn't even know some of the chocolates existed, I don't think I've ever seen as much in my life all in one place.

I ended up leaving Bruges with a bag full of the sea shells and a bag full of truffles. No regrets.

CANAL CRUISE

One of the things my grandma was adamant about us doing was a canal cruise and it was fantastic. We were given a whistle stop tour of beautiful buildings that we passed on the half hour boat trip. It was surprising how quickly the time went by actually. The cruise gives you an alternate view of all the scenic areas of Bruges from a different angle, and in an enjoyable but relaxing way with a nice bit of breeze.

However, while I loved the feeling of being on a boat trip, we were barely given time to take in the information the guide was telling us - he spoke in three different languages; French, Dutch and English - and by the time he had repeated the fact about the building in the languages, we had gone passed it so I had forgotten what he was referring to.

I was sat right at the front of the canal boat and made pals with the tour guide when a bird or something splashed out of the water. I screamed and he laughed. From that moment on, I was his go to for a joke to make the rest of the boat laugh. Just when you think you can escape being roasted in the group chat, no no. Belgian tour guides are there to ensure you live life as normal.

THE MOST PHOTOGRAPHED SPOT IN BRUGES

This is supposedly the most photographed spot in Bruge as the Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce is the hotel that Ken and Ray stay at in the film’s hotel scenes (I found this out after doing a google seeing as I haven't seen the film). So naturally we contributed to that speculated fact.

BASILICA OF THE HOLY BLOOD

As the name suggests, this Roman Catholic minor basilica in Burg Square is home to the relic that is purported to be the blood of Christ - and we saw it. We went inside to have a look and a service was occurring as we were there; there the priest was holding the relic. The Holy Blood was allegedly collected by Joseph of Arimathea and brought from the Holy Land by Thierry of Alsace, Count of Flanders.

The basilica was originally built in the 12th century but the upper chapel which holds the relic was rebuilt during the 16th century when it took on a gothic style.

I really loved visiting Bruges. Really. The only thing is, travelling on the ferry means you literally only have six hours actually in the city itself which doesn't leave a great deal of time to explore it fully. There was still so much I would have liked to have fitted into the day, so it does leave you slightly limited and constantly watching the time if you travel there this way.

The travel trip was also made enjoyable because we had fantastic weather; the sun was out all day so we timed it quite well. We also managed to go on a day when there was a parade in Grote Markt, so that was unexpected yet mesmerising. So many odd and questionable floats that you wouldn't see over here. All in all, I really enjoyed my time in Bruges.

FOLLOW ME
  • LinkedIn_logo_initials
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram_App_Large_May2016_200
  • Snapchat Social Icon
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
iNSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page